Get Ready for This New Mexico Food Handler Law, Starting March 1, 2017

DATE: 7th December, 2016

Here’s what we know, what you need to do to prep, and how you can stay compliant.

Food Handler Tips to Avoid Flu Season

For many who work in the foodservice industry, getting properly certified is half the battle. And in the state of New Mexico, that battle just got a little harder.

A newly-signed law in New Mexico says that starting March 1, 2017, many food handlers (as well as food managers) will need to get certified if they haven't already. Here are some food handler requirements you should know going into the new year:

  • A food handler card is required if you handle unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food contact surfaces in a restaurant or foodservice establishment.
  • It is not required if you're a hostess or a cashier.
  • New employees hired after March 1, 2017 must obtain a food handler card after 30 days of employment.
  • If you change employers, your food handler card is still valid.
  • Food handler cards are valid for 3 years.
  • A list of ANSI-accredited vendors can be found here.
  • The full list of requirements can be found on the New Mexico Restaurant Association's website here.
  • FAQs for food handlers can be found at these links respectively.

Food managers aren’t off-the-hook, either. Many new rulings will go into place March 1, 2017. Those rulings include the following:

  • Food managers must also be sure they've obtained their food manager certification.
  • At least one person that has supervisory responsibilities in any capacity, as well as the authority to control food prep will be required to be certified.
  • Food managers will need to make sure they explicitly get a food manager certification via a program that’s listed by a Conference for Food Protection-recognized accredited agency.
  • A summary of the rulings for food managers can be found at the link.

Ready to get certified? Get enrolled today and get back to doing what you love.

*UPDATE: The food handler implementation period for the New Mexico food safety rulings have been extended to March 1, 2018. Please see the official press release here for more information.